Daily Takeover – Lauryn’s Top 5 Afro-beats, Tunes

Hi Guys….

If there is one thing you need to know about Lauryn Nwaeze…She lives for Afrobeats. It is a connection she feels so deeply within her heart and it is more than just about the music itself, it’s about the feeling she gets when the vibration travels through her spirit.

Ok, let me stop talking in third person. Basically, I have a love affair with Afrobeats. I can be at a party, family gathering, event or a club and of course i’ll dancing to the latest Hip Hop, RnB, Trap and UK music like it’s nobodies business. In fact, i’ll be the first to get up and get the crowd pumping…how bouh dah?!

However, the pure excitement and anticipation I get knowing that at any minute the whole game will change for me with that one powerful drop…

”Isss your boy Eazi”

LOVESTRUCK FACE x10*   is almost indescribable. I do not know why, nor can I explain it but it literally feels like an out of body experience when an African style beat comes along and snatches my co-ordination (inserts spongebob meme). I’ll be moving my hips uncontrollably like Shakira, my shoki will be doing the most and I will cry internally from the joy.

So when my sister Bella Meades asked me to do a piece on my favourite Afro tracks at the moment, you know I had to deliver the “juice” right? *wink face*. Which brings me nicely to my first track that I am in love with!

1: YCEE ft Maleek Berry – Juice

FYI, I decided to make this as authentic as possible by typing my thoughts to each amazing song whilst listening to it with my headphones, which is really hard by the way. I also want to give thanks and praise to the producers too because honestly…without them what would I do? Me, I don’t know.

 

This particular track caught me completely off guard when I first heard it. It was just a whirlwind of emotion for me, it was literally too much sauce and too much juice. From the first 11 seconds, you know that this song is very serious because you feel the initial drop of the beat in your chest. The melody of this song is spectacular and it is a massive hit for me. I am yet to be in a social environment when this song has come on but I just know that it will have the same impact ‘Skin Tight’ has, if not more! Maleek Berry’s verse is probably my favourite as it just switches up the vibe completely but compliments it so sweetly (come and see poetry lol). Overall, this track is a 10/10 and I recommend you listen to it, if for some strange reason you haven’t already.

2: Wande Coal x DJ Tunez – Iskaba

I’m smiling as I am typing this because I actually remember the first time I heard this song. I was at a shoot and was listening to an Afrobeats mix by DJ Wavey J (click link to listen, he is great! https://soundcloud.com/djwavyj/afrobeast-2017-afrobeats-mix-mixed-by-djwavyj) and all I know is that when I heard “Oh my darling!” and the beat dropped, I was all over the place. I said to myself countless times “No, no…this can’t be real”. It is just such a happy song. That is probably the best way I can describe it, it feels a bit more tribal to me than ‘Juice’  and it reminds me of the Aunties breaking their backs at Church to “Everything na double double”. You can’t not like this song, it is such a vibe and the perfect summer BBQ 2017 soundtrack and it makes me want to be in the Motherland right now.

Lastly, In my friendship group the word Iskaba has become the new OMG because it sounds funny lol (we are weird, who cares?) for example: ”Lauryn, I have something to tell you” I would then respond “iiiiiiiiskaba, what’s wrong?!”. So I would like to personally like to thank Wande Coal for bringing this word to my knowledge and cheers for this tune. 10/10.

3: Maleek Berry – 4 Me

 Where do I even begin with this fire? I am trying to not cry as I listen to it. This is one of the first afrobeat tracks that I have actually connected with lyrically, specifically the lyrics “I know we just met but I want to make you my fiance” LORD HOLD ME.

 I won’t go into too much detail but let’s just say…I can relate *sticks tongue out like Cardi B”. Aside from the constant daydreams of this one fine bae, this song also brings so much sensuality to the table. I listen to this song with my eyes closed or whilst getting ready in front of my mirror and it literally makes me feel like the sexiest girl in the world. Isskaba, Maleek came through with this song!

 I don’t even have to talk too much about this one, once you listen to it properly, you will get it. It is a lot. 1000/10.

4: Mr Eazi ft Big Lean – In The Morning

 

I only heard this song last week on Soundcloud, it came on randomly as a suggested track and it has quickly become one of my favourite songs and it is at the top spot of most repeated song at the moment. One thing about me is, when I find a song that I love…I will RINSE it until I am tired, knackered and fatigued of it, so congratulations to the living legend that is Mr Eazi for “another one”. All this man creates is pure gold. Everytime. It is actually so inspiring. By far one of my top 3 afrobeats artists alongside Wizkid and Burna Boy.

This tune is lit. I don’t know how else to humanly explain it. I would have loved to be present in the studio whilst this was being produced. To hear greatness built from scratch. The instruments in this are sensational and you cannot deny an amazing saxophone solo when you hear one. All I can say is WELL DONE. 12/10.

5: R2bees ft Wizkid – Tonight

 “Legendary Beatz”. Need I say more? I expect nothing else from these two as individual artists but put them together and they have created this masterpiece. This song has so much attitude, you automatically do the stank face as soon as you hear it. Wizkids verse is by far the highlight of this whole song. I fall in love with Wizzy Baby every time I repeat his part. When I listen to it, it makes me want to live one of many fantasies of being a video vixen – LOL – just there, standing next to a BMW and caressing Wizkids face. This is a big tune and I know that if I was out and DJ Neptizzle banged out this tune, we would all ask for a reload by force! 100/10

 Well there you have it, 5 of my favourite Afrobeat tracks at this very moment. I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I have enjoyed writing it for you. Please feel free to follow me on Social Media @laurynnwaeze on Instagram and Twitter as I wish to create more content like this because it was so much fun! Also, leave a comment and let us know what you think. What are your favourite Afrobeat songs at the moment?

Peace + Love

Leave a Reply

